Specialty Training Programmes

The Speciality Training Committees & Chairs

The 26 Medical Specialities in which training is offered to doctors in this school is each managed by a Speciality Training Committee (STC), which is chaired by a consultant physician appointed by the school. 

The chair runs training in the Speciality through this committee, and may appoint colleagues as programme directors with specific portfolios of responsibility, e.g. the teaching programme, faculty development, flexible training etc.  

STC chairs all sit on the Board of the PGSoM, and receive administrative support through staff and funding provided by the SHA/Deanery.

STC chairs from this school are all members of the relevant JRCPTB Speciality Advisory Committee (SAC), providing the essential links with the JRCPTB for two way communication and educational policy, e.g. curriculum, development.