By completion of training in Internal Medicine and award of CCT, doctors must demonstrate that they are capable of unsupervised practice in all generic and specialty capabilities in practice (CiPs).

CiPs describe the professional tasks or work within the scope of internal medicine. There are 6 generic CiPs and 8 clinical CiPs. Each CiP has a set of descriptors associated with that activity or task. These descriptors indicate the minimum level of knowledge, skills and attitudes which should be demonstrated by IM trainees at different stages of their training.

They utilise professional judgement of appropriately trained, expert assessors (clinical and educational supervisors), as a key aspect of the validity of assessment.


The 6 Generic CiPs

  1. The ability to successfully function within NHS organisational and management systems
  2. Able to deal with ethical and legal issues related to clinical practice
  3. Communicates effectively and is able to share decision making, while maintaining appropriate situational awareness, professional behaviour and professional judgement
  4. Is focussed on patient safety and delivers effective quality improvement in patient care
  5. Carrying out research and managing data appropriately
  6. Acting as a clinical teacher and clinical supervisor


The 8 Clinical CiPs:

  1. Managing an acute unselected take
  2. Managing an acute specialty-related take
  3. Providing continuity of care to medical in-patients, including management of comorbidities and cognitive impairment
  4. Managing patients in an outpatient clinic, ambulatory or community setting (including management of long term conditions)
  5. Managing problems in patients in other specialties and special cases
  6. Managing a multi-disciplinary team including effective discharge planning
  7. Delivering effective resuscitation and managing acutely deteriorating patient
  8. Managing end of life and applying palliative care skills