The Royal College of Pathology (RCPath) is responsible for producing the training curriculum, delivery of assessments and ultimately awarding the Certification of Completion of Training.  Below is a brief outline of the curriculum and how it is delivered in the West Midlands region. Please note the curriculum is being updated currently so the information below is subject to change.

The curriculum is divided into four stages:

·         Stage A - Between 0 - 12 months equivalent full time training

·         Stage B - Between13 and 36 months equivalent full time training

·         Stage C - Between 25 and 48 months equivalent full time training

·         Stage D - Compulsory 12 months equivalent full time training following successful completion of the FRCpath exam

The curriculum divides the knowledge and skills trainees must acquire into:

·         Basic knowledge and skills

·         Clinical Histopathology including: surgical pathology, non-cervical cytopathology and autopsy

·         Sub-specialist areas of Histopathology: neuropathology and paediatric pathology and potential to undertake subspeciality training in these areas

·         Generic skills required for histopathology

At each stage of training there is a minimum acceptable training requirement of numbers of cases seen, with cases recorded in a trainee log book. 

There are 3 potential optional ‘bolt on’ programmes which can be added to the core training.  These are equivalent to 3 months in:

·         Higher autopsy training

·         Cervical cytopathology

·         Research methodology

For each module undertaken training is lengthened by 3 months at stage C i.e 9 months additional training if all modules are undertaken.



Training in the following subspecialities has undergone major reconfiguration by the college:

·         Neuropathology

·         Cytopathology

·         Forensic Pathology

·         Paediatric Pathology

Please see the college website for further details

Website Updated 08.07.2021