Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Register  |  Login
23 August 2014
Text Size:
Page Width:

Hereford & Worcestershire

The Hereford and Worcester Foundation School offers a two year Foundation programme based at one of its two trusts: Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust and Wye Valley NHS Trust

The rotations offered will have various hospital-based specialties, with most also offering experience in community-based specialties such as General Practice. They are designed to deliver competency in generic skills including Emergency Medicine. The multiple experiences within the rotations offer post holders the opportunity to sample different specialties and consider their own career choices. Each programme is structured so that the post holder receives training to acquire crucial generic skills as outlined in Good Medical Practice (General Medical Council).

The overall satisfaction of our trainees with our Programme is reflected in the GMC reports. (See the GMC Training Surveys for more details).

The objective of all our programmes is to develop a sound foundation for entry into future Specialty Training in your chosen career path.

The careers service is very well established with dedicated careers advisors and counsellors. Less than full-time training is welcome and we have one of the best support services for such trainees.


Posts 2013/2014

  • Foundation Year One Posts: 76
  • Foundation Year Two Posts: 73

Linked application at programme level:

Not applicable at allocation to programme stage

Support for study abroad

Hereford & Worcestershire Foundation School does not support or accredit doctors who wish to undertake their F2 year outside the UK


Contact information:

Head of School: Mr Mohamed Arafa
Foundation Programme Manager: Mrs Nelda Cameron
Postgraduate Dean: Dr Elizabeth Hughes
Associate Lead Dean for Foundation: Dr Andrew Whitehouse
Education Quality and Performance Manager: Beth Barrett



Trust / Site Website Clinical Tutor PG Coordinator
Wye Valley NHS Trust Dr Carl Stevenson Helen Pryce
Worcestershire Acute Hospitals
Worcester Royal Hospital Dr Ratan Alexander Jenny Murray
Worcestershire Acute Hospitals
Alexandra Hospital       

Mr Richard Morrell

Anne Hilson

Page updated: 30 April 2014