Where is the West Midlands?

This region ranges from Staffordshire in the north to Warwickshire and Herefordshire in the South and Worcestershire and Shropshire in the west.  In between these areas lie the cities of Coventry and Birmingham and the towns of the Black Country.  The region covers a population of 5.6 million.

The region is diverse.  It contains many areas of outstanding natural beauty, such as the Cotswolds and Malverns as well as the Shropshire Hills.  There are many historic market towns and cathedral cities such as Worcester, Hereford, Shrewsbury, Warwick, Stratford upon Avon and Lichfield to explore.  At the heart of the region lies the city of Birmingham.  This rejuvenated city is home to several theatres and the premier concert hall in the country, Symphony Hall.  In addition, the NEC ( National Exhibition Centre) provides a home of many major national exhibitions and shows, as well as visiting bands.

Sports are well catered for.  Several well-known football teams play intense local derbies in the region.  The National Indoor Arena hosts a variety of sporting events.  
The West Midlands post 1ST April 2013 will have:-

• 5 County Councils (with several District Councils within each)

• 9 Unitary Councils

• Approximately 25 NHS Trusts providing hospital and community health services or ambulance services;

• Three local units of Public Health England.

• Approximately 17 Clinical Commissioning Groups